Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony  No.31 in D Major

The Symphony No. 31 in D major, (better known as the Paris Symphony), is one of the most famous symphonies by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

The work was composed in 1778 when Mozart was 22 years old. The premiere took place on 12 June 1778. It was Mozart’s first symphony to use clarinets.

The work consists of only three movements:

I. Allegro assai

II. Andantino

III. Allegro

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, a genius, one of the three great composers in the Classical period among Hayden and Beethoven, was born in Salzburg, Austria. He composed his first piece of music at age five and he wrote his first opera when he was twelve. By the time Wolfgang was 6, he was an excellent pianist and violinist.

Mozart was only 35 when he died. During his short life, he composed in all different musical forms, including operas, symphonies, concertos, masses, and chamber music.

Mozart Symphony No.31 Structural Analysis